Herman Quirmbach

District 25

Meet Herman Quirmbach

Herman Quirmbach was elected in 2014 to his fourth term in the Iowa Senate. He represents Ames and Kelley, and Grant, Milford, and Washington Townships in Story County.

Senator Quirmbach is ranking member on the Education Committee. He also serves on the Human Resources, Local Government, and Ways & Means Committees, as well as the Education Appropriations Subcommittee.

In addition, he represents the Senate on the College Student Aid Commission, the Tobacco Use Prevention and Control Commission, the Tax Expenditure Committee, and the School Finance Formula Review Committee.

Herman is active in the Ames Kiwanis Club, the Ames League of Women Voters, the Ames Chamber of Commerce, and the Story County Democratic Party. He has also served as Co-Chair of the Ames Veterans Memorial Committee and is currently the President of the Ames Patriotic Council.

Herman has received a number of awards for his Senate service, including:

  • Exemplary Service Award from Iowa Alliance for Arts Education (2016)
  • Education Award from the NAACP-Ames Branch (2016)
  • Pacesetter Award from the Campaign for Grade-Level Reading (2013)
  • Safe Community Partners Award from the Iowa Coalition Against Domestic Violence (2012)
  • Gift of Clean Air Champion Award from CAFE Iowa (2012)
  • Iowa League of Cities’ Legislative Service Award (2010)
  • Public Health Award for Smoke-free Leadership, Story County Tobacco Task Force (2008)
  • Stick Your Neck Out Award from the National Association for the mentally Ill (2005)

He served on the Ames City Council from 1995 through 2003 and was Ames Mayor Pro Tem in 2002. He has been a member of the Story County REAP Committee, the Ames Convention and Visitors Bureau Board, and the Ames Utility Retirement Board.

Herman received a Bachelor of Arts degree in Government with honors from Harvard University in 1972 and Masters (1980) and PhD (1983) degrees in Economics from Princeton University. He is currently an Associate Professor of Economics at Iowa State University.